Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

.

Past Events › Talks, Debates & Lectures

Events List Navigation

Talks, Debates & Lectures taking place at Conway Hall

May 2019

Pluto Live and Conway Hall are delighted to host the official book launch for Geert Lovink’s new book Sad by Design: On Platform Nihilism published by Pluto Press. Geert will be joined by chair Emily Reynolds.

Lord Browne - How to Make the Future

Fans of Steven Pinker and Yuval Noah Harari ought not to miss this eloquent blueprint for building a brighter future from Britain’s most farsighted and philosophical engineer, Lord Browne.

June 2019

From secret military islands to tunnels deep beneath London, writer and activist Guy Shrubsole unearths truths concealed since the Domesday Book about who is really in charge of this country – at a time when Brexit is meant to be returning sovereignty to the people.

Viv Groskop

How to Own the Room: A Masterclass for Women in Public Speaking with Viv Groskop

The conference will examine personal experiences of what roles religion plays in gaining and maintaining wellness / well-being of believers and those with faiths. The session will also look into what roles religion played in wellness / well-being of those who have left organised religions and those who no longer have faith.

The scientific study of magic reveals intriguing—and often unsettling—insights into the mysteries of the human mind. In this talk Dr Gustav Kuhn examines the psychological processes that underpin our experience of magic.

Azhar Juri applies Adlerian perspectives to his experience of growing up, supporting his single mother raising 6 sons, and tells the story of how he found the courage to discover and practise his lifestyle goals, overcome his inferiority complex and find his individual significance and mastery of his own life.

This year’s lectures on the ‘Bhagavad Gita’ by Sunandaji are about learning to live values in life such as peace, duty, love and knowledge through a systematic and rational exposition of the knowledge of life and living.

This panel will include members of London Incarcerated Workers Organising Committee, Community Action on Prison Expansion and Bent Bars, who will discuss prison abolition from a trans and queer perspective, followed by a strategy workshop.

Labour Heritage will hold its AGM business meeting from 2.10-2.40pm followed at 2.40pm by two speakers and discussion: Steve Schiffereson ‘The Rise and Fall of the Labour Correspondent’ and Michael Tichelar on ‘Why is London Labour?’ Non-members welcome.

How does one live well in a city almost designed to make you feel isolated, tired, anxious and poor? Artists/activists/teachers/amateur thinkers Sam Siva and Sam Berkson lead a discussion on how to live radical lives in a neo-liberal city.

Kerry Hudson discusses her book Lowborn with James Bloodworth, author of Hired: Six Months Undercover in Low-Wage Britain. Lowborn is a powerful, personal, agenda-changing work of non-fiction on poverty in Britain – a unique book that we all need to pay attention to.

+ Export Events
Conway Hall

25 Red Lion Square | London | WC1R 4RL
Conway Hall is and always will be the place for those who dare to dream of a better world.

Venue Opening Hours: Mon - Sat: 9:00 - 23:00, Sun: 9:00 - 22:30
Office Opening Hours: Mon - Fri: 9.00 - 17.00
+44 20 7405 1818

Conway Hall is owned by Conway Hall Ethical Society. Terms & Conditions. Privacy Policy.
(registered charity 1156033)

© 1787 - 2019 Conway Hall